Monday, February 11, 2008

Upcoming Events

Saturday, February 16:
Huff Run monthly Environmental Explorers meeting at noon at the Nicole Donant library. Amber will teach the kids about endangered species! Contact Amber, amber@ruralaction.org or 330-859-1050, for more information.

Tuesday, February 19:
Sustainable Economies Learning Circle Meeting, 5:30pm, Athens Public Library's small meeting room. Contact Katie, katied@ruralaction.org or 740-767-4938, for more information.

Tuesday, February 19:
Huff Run Monthly Meeting at Tozzi's Restaurant in Magnolia at 5pm. Michelle Decker will be joining us for dinner with the meeting to follow. Contact Maureen, maureen@ruralaction.org or 330-859-1050, for more information.

Wednesday, February 20:
EPA's Watershed Academy presents a free Webcast on: Wastewater Utilities Using Sustainable Watershed Approaches, 1-3pm. Description: As a nation, we have built an extensive network of infrastructure to provide the public with access to water and sanitation. Much of the drinking water and wastewater infrastructure in the U.S. was built in the 30 years following World War II, mirroring the increase in population. Utilities are facing tremendous costs to rehabilitate and replace this infrastructure. EPA has a new initiative to promote Sustainable Infrastructure and help utilities identify the best practices to address a variety of management challenges. This Webcast will provide a brief introduction to EPA's Sustainable Infrastructure Initiative and will highlight the work of two utilities to use sustainable watershed management approaches.
Questions? Visit www.clu-in.org/live or contact Helen Siverling at helen.siverling@tetratech-ffx.com or 703-385-6000.

Tuesday, February 26:
Community Leadership & Youth Learning Circle Meeting, 5:30-7:00 pm, Rural Action Trimble office. Contact Katie at katie@ruralaction.org or 740-767-4938.

Tuesday, February 26:
Trimble Township Community Forest Meeting at 7pm, Sunday Creek office. Topics will include planning for the land labs, building a fence, and putting up signs. Contact Emily, emily@sundaycreek.org or 740-767-2225, for more information.

Wednesday, February 27:
Sunday Creek Public Meeting, 6:30 at the Sunday Creek office. Speaker TBA. Contact Emily, emily@sundaycreek.org or 740-767-2225, for more information.

Thursday, March 6:
Federal Valley Watershed Group Meeting, 7pm at the Amesville Grange Hall. Contact Chris, chris@ruralaction.org or 740-767-4938, for more information.